You are correct that the option to remove original uploads has been removed from the Account Dashboard. The functionality is still available, however, but you would have to use our Platform API in order to do it.
The reason why we removed the feature, and also why we still recommend against deleting your original upload, is that whenever we make advancements to our transcoding engine, to either improve things or add new stream formats, we transcode your content again to take advantage of those improvements. If we no longer have access to your original upload, we cannot re-transcode your content.
Please let me know if you need any more help or have any other questions.
This question has received the maximum number of answers.